Clifford I. Argall Scholarship

2018 Clifford I. Argall Scholarship Winner

Patience Jator

Austin Peay University

Clarksville TN

(pictured above left/right: Dr. Eleanor Jator, Patience Jator, Eileen Ricker) 


The Tennessee Association of Blood Banks (TABB) is dedicated to the advancement of professionals in Transfusion Medicine. One of the prime activities of the TABB is the granting of scholarships for students in a program leading to a degree with a major in medical technology (MT) or students seeking a specialist in blood banking (SBB) certificate.


The application deadline is February 28th. The applications will be forwarded to the education coordinator. The education coordinator will confirm the candidates are currently enrolled in an approved school. The board will review and select the scholarship recipients by March 31st. The scholarship recipients will be invited to attend the Spring Meeting.



A scholarship in the amount of $1000 will be given for either MT, SBB or MLT.



  • Applicants must be United States citizens or permanent residents of the United States.
  • Applicants must be accepted into or enrolled in an approved Specialist in Blood Bank (SBB), Medical Technologist (MT), or Medical Laboratory Technician (MLT) Program.
  • Applicants cannot complete their education before the scholarship is awarded.

Click APPLY below and download

"Form--TABB Clifford Argall Scholarship Application"

Good Luck!!!

Diggs Award

 Terrance Geiger, MD

2018 Recipient

The most prestigious award given by the Tennessee Association of Blood Banks 

is the Diggs Award, named for the late 

Lemuel W. Diggs, M.D. 

The award is given annually at the 

spring meeting of the Association. 

Below is a listing of the Recipients. 


Nominations due prior to 

annual Spring Meeting.

DEADLINE: March 16, 2019

Click SUBMIT below and download

"Form - TABB Diggs Award Nomination"

Dr. Lemuel Whitley Diggs

A Portrait of Dr. L. W. Diggs 

by Ann Bell

The outstanding medical career of 

Dr. Lemuel Whitley Diggs 

began in 1929 in Memphis, Tennessee,

 when he joined the faculty of the

 University of Tennessee as 

Assistant Professor of Pathology. 

His main duties consisted of 

supervising the clinical laboratories,

 including the transfusion.

Dr. Diggs filtering blood through 

gauze into a Kelly flask held by 

Ms. Alice Jean Keith. 1938.


 The needle was inserted from above downward in order to “meet the blood head on.” The first ten bloods that were collected and refrigerated were grossly contaminated with bacteria and could not be used. 

This experience immediately led to the adoption of a closed system of collection. 

To remove fibrin clots the blood was filtered through multiple layers of cotton gauze, spread over a funnel, into a Kelly flask. 

1974 - 1988 Recipients

  • 1974 Eunice Vance
  • 1975 Dean Birdwell
  • 1976 Clifford I. Argall, PhD
  • 1978 Jeanette Spann 
  • 1977 Jack Smythe
  • 1979 Jack C. Duggin
  • 1980 Elsie Argall
  • 1981 Monica Willis
  • 1982 James R. Cundall
  • 1983 Dianne P. McAfee
  • 1984 Francis S. Jones, MD
  • 1985 Grace Neitzer
  • 1986 Richard H. Walker, MD
  • 1987 Sherry Jane Aycock
  • 1988 Jean Wright

1989 - 2003 Recipients

  • 1989 Lois Marsh
  • 1990 E. Eric Muirhead, MD
  • 1991 Basil Welch
  • 1992 Carl A. Nelson, MD
  • 1993 Laura Lee Woods
  • 1994 Charles Wallas, MD
  • 1995 Doris B. Presley
  • 1996 Joan G. Freeman
  • 1997 Patricia Callicoat
  • 1998 Edwin A. Steane
  • 1999 Susan Steane
  • 2000 Patricia Tanley
  • 2001 Sandra Bonds
  • 2002 Mary Johnson
  • 2003 Christopher Stowell, MD

2004 - 2018 Recipients

  • 2004 Eva D. Quinley
  • 2005 Lynn Blake, MD
  • 2006 Marilyn K. Moulds
  • 2007 Jerry Rysticken
  • 2008 Anne T. Neff, MD
  • 2009 Jocelynne McCall
  • 2010 Mona Dilbeck
  • 2011 Nancy Cornwell
  • 2012 Diane McFarland 
  • 2013 Joseph V. Schifano
  • 2014 John Hilsenbeck, MD
  • 2015 Edward P. Scott, MD
  • 2016 Elizabeth Culler, MD
  • 2017 Garrett S. Booth, MD
  • 2018 Terrance Geiger, MD



(pictured left/right - Laura Lee Woods, Gloria Jenkins)

grace neitzer award

Lisa Edwards - 2018 Winner

Grace Neitzer, who died in Memphis on April 4, 2002 had a 40-year career as a blood banker, and was technical director of the blood bank at Baptist 

Memorial Hospital for the last 15 years of her professional life. Her international reputation as a leader in establishing quality standards and procedures in the field led to her election as president of the American Association of Blood Banks, the world's largest organization devoted to transfusion medicine, and her receipt of the distinguished service medal of that professional organization.

Neitzer died from chronic hepatitis C, contracted as the result of an unrecognized laboratory accident when she was working with a blood specimen. How ironic that this gracious woman, who dedicated her life to providing a safe and reliable blood supply for the sick and injured of the Mid-South and the nation, should give up her life to a disease contracted through life-sustaining blood. Her passing reminds us of Sister Constance and the other Martyrs of Memphis (memorialized at St. Mary's Cathedral) who gave their lives nursing the sick in the Memphis yellow fever epidemic of 1878.

Thomas M. Chesney, M.D.
Director of Laboratories
Baptist Memorial Hospital

                                   (pictured left/right Lisa Edwards, Eileen Ricker)